This site stores cookies. This is how we treat your information.

Qualifications for International accredited Safe Community Certifiers


Version 2015-09-13


Backgrund for education

Educational Qualifications:

Physician with relevant specialization (Public Health); and/or Bachelor, Master or PhD (of Science) in Public Health and/or Education degree that is judged as similar by ISCCC.



Safe community work predominantly at local level and/or

Safe community work predominantly at the national level and/or

Safe community work predominantly at the international level and/or

Management in health care/public, health/education/safety or other community systems/organisational setting and/or

Researcher in Public Health


Core Competencies

Candidates will need to demonstrate

- Effective communication (written and oral)

- In depth knowledge of the criteria and process required for International Safe

- Cultural sensitivity and awareness

- Understanding of governing of communities

- Good understanding of injury data, evaluation and effective prevention strategies.



Education as certifier:


One course for international certifiers (distance education via the Internet one year and one seminar one week.



Reading five different applications from designated

Safe Communities, and then discussions with accredited certifier on location or via Skype or email.


Practical work as certifier-trainee with a minimum of three applying communities.


Participation in a minimum of three site-visits (can be in the own country).


Accreditation needs countinous work


After three years an accreditation is to be renewed. The certifier must than have been active and at least participated:

  • as certifier or co-certifier for three communities or Safe Community Support Centres
  • in the active discussions among the certifiers via Skype or e-mail


  1. After 1st of April 2013 certifiers must be active and extended accreditation can only be valid under the following conditions:


  • To perform as certifier or co-certifier in a minimum of two communities every year


  • To participate in the international experience exchange organised by the ISCCC